Prevent deleting websites that the user has visited
- Policy ID
- DBHDisableDeleteHistory
- Scope
- Computer Configuration, User Configuration
- Supported on
- At least Internet Explorer 8.0
- Source
- Administrative Templates (.admx) for Windows 11 2026 Update (26H2) (version 1.0)
- Category
- Windows Components › Internet Explorer › Delete Browsing History
Description
This policy setting prevents the user from deleting the history of websites that he or she has visited. This feature is available in the Delete Browsing History dialog box.
If you enable this policy setting, websites that the user has visited are preserved when he or she clicks Delete.
If you disable this policy setting, websites that the user has visited are deleted when he or she clicks Delete.
If you do not configure this policy setting, the user can choose whether to delete or preserve visited websites when he or she clicks Delete.
If the "Prevent access to Delete Browsing History" policy setting is enabled, this policy setting is enabled by default.
Registry
ComputerHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
- CleanHistoryREG_DWORD
UserHKEY_CURRENT_USER
- CleanHistoryREG_DWORD