Prevent deleting favorites site data
- Policy ID
- DBHDisableKeepFavorites
- Scope
- Computer Configuration, User Configuration
- Supported on
- At least Internet Explorer 8.0
- Source
- Administrative Templates (.admx) for Windows 11 2026 Update (26H2) (version 1.0)
- Category
- Windows Components › Internet Explorer › Delete Browsing History
Description
This policy setting prevents the user from deleting favorites site data. This feature is available in the Delete Browsing History dialog box.
If you enable this policy setting, favorites site data is preserved when the user clicks Delete.
If you disable this policy setting, favorites site data is deleted when the user clicks Delete.
If you do not configure this policy setting, the user can choose whether to delete or preserve favorites site data when he or she clicks Delete.
If the "Prevent access to Delete Browsing History" policy setting is enabled, this policy setting has no effect.
Registry
ComputerHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
- UseAllowListREG_DWORD
UserHKEY_CURRENT_USER
- UseAllowListREG_DWORD