Prevent restoring remote previous versions

Policy ID
DisableRemoteRestore_1
Scope
User Configuration
Supported on
At least Windows Vista
Source
Administrative Templates (.admx) for Windows 11 2026 Update (26H2) (version 1.0)
Category
Windows Components › File Explorer › Previous Versions

Description

This setting lets you suppress the Restore button in the previous versions property page when the user has selected a previous version of a file on a file share.

If you enable this policy setting, the Restore button is disabled when the user selects a previous version corresponding to a file on a file share.

If you disable this policy setting, the Restore button remains active for a previous version corresponding to a file on a file share. If the user clicks the Restore button, Windows attempts to restore the file from the file share.

If you do not configure this policy setting, it is disabled by default. The Restore button is active when the previous version is of a file on a file share.

Registry

UserHKEY_CURRENT_USER
  • DisableRemoteRestoreREG_DWORD

Other policies in the same category

View all policies in this category (6)