Do not move deleted files to the Recycle Bin

Policy ID
NoRecycleFiles
Scope
User Configuration
Supported on
At least Windows Server 2003 operating systems or Windows XP Professional
Source
Administrative Templates (.admx) for Windows 11 2026 Update (26H2) (version 1.0)
Category
Windows Components › File Explorer

Description

When a file or folder is deleted in File Explorer, a copy of the file or folder is placed in the Recycle Bin. Using this setting, you can change this behavior.

If you enable this setting, files and folders that are deleted using File Explorer will not be placed in the Recycle Bin and will therefore be permanently deleted.

If you disable or do not configure this setting, files and folders deleted using File Explorer will be placed in the Recycle Bin.

Registry

Other policies in the same category

View all policies in this category (47)